WGU Students
Readiness Assessment - Printable Version

+- WGU Students (http://wgustudents.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Welcome (/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Questions, Suggestions and Announcements (/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Thread: Readiness Assessment (/showthread.php?tid=529)

Readiness Assessment - mtaylor - 01-16-2011 12:37 PM

I have just applied to WGU, thinking of transferring from another online university (depending on transfer of credits). I am wondering what to expect from the readiness assessment. I received an email that I could begin the assessment and that it would take approx. 2 hours. I have my associates degree in Elementary Education but am nervous about this assessment!

RE: Readiness Assessment - jlt - 01-16-2011 01:37 PM

If I recall correctly (it's been over 1 1/2 years since I took it), the readiness assessment just asks you a bunch of basic reading comprehension, grammar, and (possibly) math questions. A few of the English questions are about really obscure stuff that you probably haven't thought about since 8th grade. In general, though, it's pretty easy, it's just testing you to make sure you can read and write and (maybe?) do math. Kind of like taking the SAT, though not nearly as long.

RE: Readiness Assessment - Dana - 01-16-2011 02:09 PM

When I took them, there were 2. One for reading/writing and one for math. I think they were pretty basic. They just want to make sure you have the skills to handle college level courses. If you've already got an associates, I'm sure you have nothing to worry about.

RE: Readiness Assessment - mtaylor - 01-16-2011 02:49 PM

Thank you for your replies. Plan on taking the test in the next two days.
I am hoping that all of my credits will transfer and I won't have to go backwards and take extra courses.

RE: Readiness Assessment - tes5884 - 01-17-2011 12:09 AM